Notices

EML P2444 Secondary Air Injection Pump - Blanking it off?

Search this Thread

Old 19 August 2013, 06:11 PM
DmcL
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default EML P2444 Secondary Air Injection Pump - Blanking it off?

EML came on starting the car to come home from work, got home and read the fault then reset it. heres the fault:

Monday,19,August,2013,17:24:09:37412
VCDS Release 11.11.0: Generic OBD2
Mode 03: Emission related fault codes

Address 10 (Engine): 1 Fault Found:
P2444 - Secondary Air Injection Pump Bank 1: Stuck Open

now, i have read a little on this and removing/blanking seems to be the ticket but requires mapping so i have a few questions.

firstly, is there a guide or write up about how to remove and blank it all off and secondly.. what exactly needs done mapping wise and can it be done via opensource software as im just getting into opensource tuning so hoping id be able to sort the mapping side out myself.

car is still within its 3 month warranty also so first thing ill be doing is getting in touch with the dealer but as theyre relatively small i dont think they will like the price of new secondary air pump related bits so i have a feeling if i leave it to them they will fart around and maybe clean something and wipe the fault as i did today until the 3 months are up then tell me tough cookies so id like to sus out removal/blanking ahead of time so that hopefully when the system is completely screwed ill have everything sorted to blank it all off and map it.
Old 19 August 2013, 07:23 PM
Tidgy
Scooby Regular

Received 150 Likes on 115 Posts

Can just turn it off in the map. You can remove all the pipework but its a mega job, turbo out manifold off etc. Easiest way is just disable it in the map.
Old 19 August 2013, 07:41 PM
jazzyjembreaze
Scooby Regular

Left bank servo fault ( 2 servos left of picture )