ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum

ScoobyNet.com - Subaru Enthusiast Forum (https://www.scoobynet.com/)
-   Non Scooby Related (https://www.scoobynet.com/non-scooby-related-4/)
-   -   M6 Toll Road Speed Limit (https://www.scoobynet.com/non-scooby-related-4/477115-m6-toll-road-speed-limit.html)

Martyn Tonks 13 December 2005 09:59 PM

M6 Toll Road Speed Limit

OK how many people on here think the M6 Toll Road is a private road and is therefore not subject to any speed limit?

All those who said ME ME ME go to the bottom of the class.

This all started when I was talking to a fellow Scooby owner in the locality who had been pulled by the police for exceeding 100mph on the said road, his excuse "It's a private road that I have to pay to use I can't see any speed limit signs therefore there isn't one"

How wrong he was, I work in the highways industry and meet with Traffic Officers working on the Midlands motorways regularly, they nick loads of motorists on the M6 Toll, all of which are under the same impression.

Asking around people I have met over the last week I was amazed to find that about 50% of those questioned have always assumed that the M6 Toll does not have a speed limit.

Can I put the record straight here, and perhaps help a few people keep their licence. The M6 Toll Road has a 70 MPH speed limit just like any other motorway, take it easy on there because as per usual the plain unmarked cars patrol it just as much as the marked cars.

boomer 13 December 2005 10:38 PM

Er, strictly speaking, the M6 Toll has a 70mph speed limit for the majority of it's length, but on the approach to the toll plazas it reduces significantly (and enforceably). Dunno if anyone has been nicked in these areas yet, but they sound like tasty morsels for the scameratzi!

mb

Gav 13 December 2005 11:05 PM

I always wondered about that! I saw a load of Feds on the bridge by the services and about three volvo's ready to go so thought ahh it does have a speed limit:D:D:D