Notices
Technical Topics Archive This is where we store all those topics that are going to be useful time and time again...

Crank pulley 'wobbling' - MY97 UK Turbo 2000 EJ20 engine: Worn Keyway repair

Search this Thread

Old 15 August 2009, 05:19 PM
Ben123456789
Scooby Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Crank pulley 'wobbling' - MY97 UK Turbo 2000 EJ20 engine: Worn Keyway repair

I've just changed the power steering pump (the old one developed a loud whine last weekend) and whilst I was bleeding the pump, I was looking at the belts and I noticed that the crank pulley appears to be wobbling slightly.

This may not be a new problem; I have not paid much attention to the belts / pulleys before, so it might have been doing this for some time previously but I just haven't noticed until now.

Anyway, I'm pretty sure it shouldn't be doing this, but since I've only had the car for 4 1/2 months and I'm no expert on Scooby's, there may be an innocent explanation.

Does anybody know (a) if it is normal, and (b) if not, what could be the problem? Should I stop driving the car until I get it fixed?

I've taken a video and put it on youtube, it shows the wobble quite clearly.

YouTube - Subaru Impreza - Crank pulley wobble
Old 15 August 2009, 05:23 PM
petedotuk
Scooby Regular

It is a distinct wobble, have you checked the bolt is tight?
Old 15 August 2009, 05:26 PM
clark822
Scooby Regular

funny you sould post this been doing the timing belt and mine had this check the pulley bolt is tight mine was'nt and wrecked the crank cog & pulley.But i also had damage done to my timing belt so check it is right or could cause you big trouble
Old 15 August 2009, 05:37 PM
harvey
Former Sponsor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

As above. Check the bolt is tight and fully home. If it is keep an eye on the pulley from time to time. Chances are it will not get worse.
Old 15 August 2009, 05:59 PM
Splitpin
Scooby Regular

Originally Posted by Ben123456789